Congratulations to Prof Marianne Vanderschuren – Professor: Transport Planning and Engineering; and Chair: DSI/NRF/Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) Co-funded Smart Mobility Research; and Deputy Dean: Social Responsiveness and Transformation, Dept of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment, University of Cape Town – for winning the 2021/2022 NSTF-South32 Special Themes Award “Basic Science for Sustainable Development” for her role in improving the quality of life of vulnerable road users using Smart Mobility through research solutions based on the basic sciences. 

Prof Vanderschuren is also the current and 119th President of the South African Institution of Civil Engineering (SAICE).

Read UCT professor wins award for her commitment to safe and secure transport at ‘Science Oscars’.

More about the initiative at UCT professor to spearhead rethink of e-mobility ecosystem.